Our Amazing Chakra Energy Centers

Originally published for Yoga Central on November 28, 2012

I’m attending a Yoga and the Chakras workshop next week so I decided to brush up on my chakra knowledge. I have a vague impression of my subtle energy body. I know that it’s there and I can frequently tap into it, but I’m unfamiliar with the specifics that go with it. So I searched the interwebs for information and am pleased to share it with you.

Some facts:

  • Chakra is Sanskrit for “vortex” or “wheel.” It is a point where our subtle energy body connects with our physical body along the spine.
  • Each chakra governs our physical, emotional, and mental functions.
  • When chakras connect and coordinate with one another, our energy unites and our overall well-being improves
  • There are many more chakras around our body, including on our palms and feet!

The Seven Major Chakras 

 1. Muladhara – “Foundation” – Root Chakra

The Root chakra is located at the perineum in the pelvic floor and connects to our adrenal glands. Its red-tinted energy reaches into our lower body through our legs, kidneys, and the base of our spine. Through this chakra we gather energy from the earth, boosting our vitality, passion, and strength. An imbalanced Root chakra can lead to fear, difficulties with body image, and physical problems with the lower body.

2. Svadisthana – “One’s Own Place” – Sacral/Spleen Chakra

The Sacral (or Spleen) chakra is located along the spine between the naval and pelvis and resonates a vibrant orange. It is the seat of our deepest emotions that relate to attraction, sexuality, and inspiration. By building this chakra we build confidence in the strength of our unique essence. An imbalanced Sacral chakra can lead to addiction, depression, and difficulty with sensuality.

3. Manipura – “Lustrous Gem” – Solar Plexis

The Solar Plexis chakra is located at the, well, solar plexis just above your navel. It’s strong yellow color connects with our digestive system, pancreas, and nervous system. Emotionally, it is the seat of our ego, personal power, and self interest. An imbalanced Solar Plexis chakra can lead to digestive problems, nervousness, and poor memory.

4. Anahata – “Unstuck Sound’ – Heart

The Heart chakra resonates with a beautiful green color. It connects with our heart, chest, arms, hands, and circulatory system. Our emotional relationships reside here and the “unstuck sound” represents the potential we have for loving others. An imbalanced Heart chakra can lead to chest tension, heart and lung problems, and blocked emotions.


5. Vishudda – “Pure Place” – Throat

The Throat chakra resonates a blue color and connects with the thyroid gland in the throat. This energy expresses our communication capability and the potential creative expression of our needs. An imbalanced Throat chakra can lead to thyroid imbalances, tongue and neck problems, and difficulty communicating.

6. Anja – “Perceive” or “See” – Brow

The Brow chakra resonates from between our eyebrows with a beautiful indgo color. It governs our eyes, ears, and sinus functions. When we open our Brow chakra, we tap into our higher intuition, our ability to strengthen our inner awareness of who we really are. A blocked Brow chakra can lead to sleeping problems, poor coordination, and incomplete concept of ourselves.

7. Sahasrara – “Lotus of one thousand petals” – Crown

The Crown chakra blooms from the top of our head as a bright violet color. It is a direct connection to our highest spiritual self and our inherent divine origin. Physically, it connects with the upper brain. Imbalance in this chakra can lead to headaches, mental illness, and blood vessel problems.

All in all, our energy centers sustain us through our physical, emotional, and spiritual life. Learning about the chakras can propel you into a new way of living. A way of living that nurtures your self-empowerment and vitality. Unsurprisingly, yoga asanas can help stimulate and balance these energy centers. Positioning our body into certain postures stimulate the chakras. You’ll just have to come to Jenn’s workshop to find out about the connection between yoga and chakra energy!

Want more info? Here are some resources!

“The 7 Major Chakras” from Heart of Healing

Chakra Energy dot com

“The Seven Major Chakras, Their Functions and Abilities” from Vital Nature Natural Health Solutions

“Reading the Signs: A Guide To The Symbols Of Seven Chakras” from Chakra Healing